beehiiv vs Kit
Nub tried both so you don’t have to.

Nub’s verdict
Pick beehiiv for newsletters that plan to grow fast and sell sponsorships.
Pick Kit for creators who sell products and want automations.
beehiiv vs Kit, in rows
Checked on 27 October 2026. A row is here only when both cells could be filled. Prices that were not read from the vendor are not guessed.
| beehiiv | Kit | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free $0, up to 2,500 subscribers, unlimited sends, no paid subscriptions. Lite from $49/month billed annually ($59 month-to-month) at the up-to-1,000 tier, scaling toward 100,000. Pro from $95/month annually ($109 month-to-month) at 1,000, scaling toward 250,000. Paid plans take 0% of paid-subscription revenue. Stripe’s 2.9% + $0.30 still applies. | Creator starts at $39/month up to 1,000 subscribers. Pro starts at $79/month. Prices scale with subscribers. Annual billing is 12 months for the price of 10. A free plan exists. Its subscriber cap was not verified, so the cap is omitted. Digital products show a 3.5% + 30¢ fee, and Kit says it takes 0.6% of total fees. |
| Free plan | Yes. Up to 2,500 subscribers and unlimited sends. Paid subscriptions are not on Free. | Yes. The subscriber cap was not on the page we could quote, so it is not stated. |
| Free plan limits | The published tiers scale by subscriber bucket. This page does not interpolate a price between the buckets. Paid subscriptions, automations and the ad network start on Lite. | Creator and Pro both scale as the list grows. Quote the $39 and $79 starting bands only for lists up to 1,000, and re-check the next bucket on kit.com/pricing. |
| How you pay | Free, then monthly, with a lower price if billed annually. No cut of paid-subscription revenue on paid plans. | Free plan, then monthly plans by subscriber count, with a discount for paying annually. |
| Platforms | Newsletter, website, referrals, recommendations and an ad network. | Email: forms, automations, paid newsletters and digital products, plus a recommendations network. |
| Best for | Newsletters that plan to grow quickly and sell sponsorships. | Creators who sell products and want automations. |
| How the work gets done | A newsletter platform with growth tools and ads, not a general marketing-automation suite. | Email marketing for creators, not a hosted publication with an ad network. |
| Key strength | Referrals, recommendations, a site, and an ad network in the same product. | Tagging, automations, and selling a paid newsletter or a digital product from the same account. |
| Main limit | Automations are less deep than a tool built as email marketing. | The bill grows with the list. The editor is plain on purpose. |
| What you leave with | A newsletter and a site. Sponsorships are a first-class path. | Emails, sequences, and a checkout for products or a paid newsletter. |
| Team use | Not quoted as a per-seat social tool. | Not the point of the starting price. Seat details were not quoted. |
| Learning curve | Short if you are writing a newsletter. The growth features take a week of setup, not a day. | Medium. Automations are the reason to pick it, and they take design. |
| Watermark or branding | Free is a real plan, not a trial, and it stops before paid subscriptions. | No watermark. The cost is the subscriber tier and the product fee. |
| Best avoided when | A creator whose business is tag-based automations and digital products first, newsletter second. | A writer who wants a free publication and a built-in reader app, and who does not want to design sequences. |
| Checked on | 27 October 2026 | 27 October 2026 |
Sources
What beehiiv and Kit are for
beehiiv’s free plan is $0 up to 2,500 subscribers, with unlimited sends and no paid subscriptions. Lite starts at $49 a month billed annually, or $59 month-to-month, and that is where paid subscriptions, automations and the ad network begin. Pro starts at $95 annually or $109 month-to-month. Kit’s Creator plan starts at $39 a month up to 1,000 subscribers, Pro at $79, and both scale. Kit’s free plan exists, but the cap was not verified, so it is not printed. Annual Kit billing is 12 months for the price of 10.
The products want different businesses. beehiiv wants a publication that grows through referrals and sells ads, and it takes 0% of paid-subscription revenue on paid plans while Stripe still takes 2.9% + $0.30. Kit wants tags, sequences, and a digital product, with a stated product fee of 3.5% + 30¢ of which Kit says it keeps 0.6% of total fees.
beehiiv is for Newsletters that plan to grow quickly and sell sponsorships. The working method is A newsletter platform with growth tools and ads, not a general marketing-automation suite. Kit is for Creators who sell products and want automations. The working method is Email marketing for creators, not a hosted publication with an ad network. If those two sentences describe the same afternoon, you do not need this page. They usually do not.
The strength you are paying for on beehiiv is this: Referrals, recommendations, a site, and an ad network in the same product. The strength on Kit is this: Tagging, automations, and selling a paid newsletter or a digital product from the same account. Strengths are not a score. They are the hour the product gives back.
Money, only where a page published it
Both vendors published a starting figure we could quote on 27 October 2026. beehiiv: Free $0, up to 2,500 subscribers, unlimited sends, no paid subscriptions. Lite from $49/month billed annually ($59 month-to-month) at the up-to-1,000 tier, scaling toward 100,000. Pro from $95/month annually ($109 month-to-month) at 1,000, scaling toward 250,000. Paid plans take 0% of paid-subscription revenue. Stripe’s 2.9% + $0.30 still applies. Kit: Creator starts at $39/month up to 1,000 subscribers. Pro starts at $79/month. Prices scale with subscribers. Annual billing is 12 months for the price of 10. A free plan exists. Its subscriber cap was not verified, so the cap is omitted. Digital products show a 3.5% + 30¢ fee, and Kit says it takes 0.6% of total fees. Tax is not in those figures. A regional checkout can show another button, and the button is the price.
How the bill is structured is a separate question from the sticker. beehiiv: Free, then monthly, with a lower price if billed annually. No cut of paid-subscription revenue on paid plans. Kit: Free plan, then monthly plans by subscriber count, with a discount for paying annually.
Free, or the absence of free, changes the first month more than the feature list does. beehiiv: Yes. Up to 2,500 subscribers and unlimited sends. Paid subscriptions are not on Free. Kit: Yes. The subscriber cap was not on the page we could quote, so it is not stated.
What the free or entry plan actually holds: beehiiv: The published tiers scale by subscriber bucket. This page does not interpolate a price between the buckets. Paid subscriptions, automations and the ad network start on Lite. Kit: Creator and Pro both scale as the list grows. Quote the $39 and $79 starting bands only for lists up to 1,000, and re-check the next bucket on kit.com/pricing.
A working week on each
On beehiiv, the platforms are Newsletter, website, referrals, recommendations and an ad network. You get A newsletter and a site. Sponsorships are a first-class path. The team shape is Not quoted as a per-seat social tool. The learning curve is Short if you are writing a newsletter. The growth features take a week of setup, not a day. Branding or watermark, stated only if we could support it: Free is a real plan, not a trial, and it stops before paid subscriptions.
On Kit, the platforms are Email: forms, automations, paid newsletters and digital products, plus a recommendations network. You get Emails, sequences, and a checkout for products or a paid newsletter. The team shape is Not the point of the starting price. Seat details were not quoted. The learning curve is Medium. Automations are the reason to pick it, and they take design. Branding or watermark: No watermark. The cost is the subscriber tier and the product fee.
Where beehiiv gets awkward: Automations are less deep than a tool built as email marketing. Leave it when A creator whose business is tag-based automations and digital products first, newsletter second. Where Kit gets awkward: The bill grows with the list. The editor is plain on purpose. Leave it when A writer who wants a free publication and a built-in reader app, and who does not want to design sequences.
A practical way to decide, without a winner’s badge: spend one real piece of work in each, using the free plan or the trial, and keep the one whose limit you did not hit. beehiiv’s limit is “Automations are less deep than a tool built as email marketing.” Kit’s limit is “The bill grows with the list. The editor is plain on purpose.” If your week collides with the first sentence, the second product is the one to try. If it collides with neither, pick the bill you can read.
Put the two offers on one sheet before you subscribe. beehiiv leaves you with A newsletter and a site. Sponsorships are a first-class path. You pay like this: Free, then monthly, with a lower price if billed annually. No cut of paid-subscription revenue on paid plans. You should walk away when A creator whose business is tag-based automations and digital products first, newsletter second. Kit leaves you with Emails, sequences, and a checkout for products or a paid newsletter. You pay like this: Free plan, then monthly plans by subscriber count, with a discount for paying annually. You should walk away when A writer who wants a free publication and a built-in reader app, and who does not want to design sequences. The sheet is dull on purpose. A comparison that cannot be written as those six sentences is usually a comparison of logos.
How to read the table
The table is the same facts as the paragraphs, in rows, so a search engine can see them without reading the essay. “Checked on” is 27 October 2026 for every filled comparison on this site. Public ratings from review sites are not in the table: we did not pull a fresh G2 or Capterra number for this update, and an old star count would be a fake precision.
Nothing structural was omitted beyond a public rating. Prices that appear were read from the vendor pages linked under the table.
Re-check before you buy. beehiiv and Kit both change plan names and buttons. This page is a reading of 27 October 2026, not a quote.
Questions
Which free plan is better documented?
beehiiv’s: up to 2,500 subscribers, unlimited sends, no paid subscriptions. Kit has a free plan, and this page refuses to invent its subscriber cap.
Does beehiiv take a cut of paid subscriptions?
Not on paid plans. Stripe’s 2.9% + $0.30 still applies. Kit is not a 10% publication fee either. Its product fee is the 3.5% + 30¢ figure, with Kit’s 0.6% share of total fees, which is a different sentence from Substack’s 10%.
How should I read the beehiiv price against Kit?
beehiiv: Free $0, up to 2,500 subscribers, unlimited sends, no paid subscriptions. Lite from $49/month billed annually ($59 month-to-month) at the up-to-1,000 tier, scaling toward 100,000. Pro from $95/month annually ($109 month-to-month) at 1,000, scaling toward 250,000. Paid plans take 0% of paid-subscription revenue. Stripe’s 2.9% + $0.30 still applies. Kit: Creator starts at $39/month up to 1,000 subscribers. Pro starts at $79/month. Prices scale with subscribers. Annual billing is 12 months for the price of 10. A free plan exists. Its subscriber cap was not verified, so the cap is omitted. Digital products show a 3.5% + 30¢ fee, and Kit says it takes 0.6% of total fees. Checked 27 October 2026. Tax and regional cards are not included.
What is the free-plan difference between beehiiv and Kit?
beehiiv: Yes. Up to 2,500 subscribers and unlimited sends. Paid subscriptions are not on Free. The published tiers scale by subscriber bucket. This page does not interpolate a price between the buckets. Paid subscriptions, automations and the ad network start on Lite. Kit: Yes. The subscriber cap was not on the page we could quote, so it is not stated. Creator and Pro both scale as the list grows. Quote the $39 and $79 starting bands only for lists up to 1,000, and re-check the next bucket on kit.com/pricing.
When is beehiiv the wrong tool in this pair?
A creator whose business is tag-based automations and digital products first, newsletter second. Its main limit is: Automations are less deep than a tool built as email marketing.
Best for
Newsletters that plan to grow fast and sell sponsorships.
Creators who sell products and want automations.
Free plan
Yes
Yes
How it charges
Free plan, then monthly plans by subscriber count
Free plan, then monthly plans by subscriber count
Made for
Newsletter writersPodcastersYouTubers
Newsletter writersCourse creatorsYouTubersPodcasters
What it does well
- Referral programme and recommendations built in
- Ad network for sponsorship revenue
- Newsletter website included
- Strong automations and tagging
- Sells paid newsletters and digital products
- Creator recommendations network
Where Nub hesitates
- Automations less deep than email-marketing tools
- Advanced features on higher plans
- Priced by subscriber count, which grows with you
- Editor is plain by design
What actually differs
beehiiv is a newsletter platform with a website, referral programme, recommendations and an ad network built in, aimed at newsletters that want to grow and earn from sponsors.
Kit (formerly ConvertKit) is email marketing for creators: forms, automations, paid newsletters and digital product sales, with a recommendations network for growth.
Kit also suits course creators, which beehiiv is not really built for.
How to decide
- Fee model
- A percentage of paid subscriptions is cheap at the start and expensive later. A flat subscriber-based fee is the opposite.
- Growth features
- Referral programmes, recommendations and a network of other newsletters can do more for growth than any template.
- Export
- Make sure you can export every subscriber, paid ones included, in one file.


