DaVinci Resolve vs Descript
Nub tried both so you don’t have to.

Nub’s verdict
Pick DaVinci Resolve for creators who care about colour and want to avoid subscriptions.
Pick Descript for talking-head videos, interviews and video podcasts.
DaVinci Resolve vs Descript, in rows
Checked on 27 October 2026. A row is here only when both cells could be filled. Prices that were not read from the vendor are not guessed.
| DaVinci Resolve | Descript | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | The editing app is free. Studio is a one-time licence. A widely reported list price is $295. Confirm the button on blackmagicdesign.com. A temporary sale is not the standing price. | Free $0. Hobbyist $24/month or $16/month billed annually. Creator $35/month or $24/month annually. Business $65/month or $50/month annually. Enterprise is custom. |
| Free plan | Yes. The free app is the one most creators actually use. | Yes. The pricing table listed 60 media minutes a month, 5 GB of cloud, and 2 hours of recording on Free. |
| Free plan limits | Studio features beyond the free app were not copied into a matrix from Blackmagic’s own page during this check, so they are not itemised here. | Hobbyist: 10 media hours, 400 AI credits, 1080p watermark-free, 1 editor, 100 GB. Creator: 30 hours, 800 credits, 4K, up to 3 editors, 1 TB. Business: 40 hours, 1,500 credits, up to 5 editors, 2 TB. |
| How you pay | Free, or a one-time Studio licence. Not a monthly subscription for the editor itself. | Free tier, then a monthly subscription that drops if you pay annually. |
| Platforms | Desktop app. | Desktop and browser. It records screen, camera and remote guests. |
| Best for | Creators who care about colour and want to avoid a subscription. | Talking-head videos, interviews and video podcasts. |
| How the work gets done | A full desktop suite: edit, colour, audio and effects. | Edit the transcript. Delete a sentence and the picture follows. |
| Key strength | A very capable free version and colour grading that specialist tools are measured against. | Text-based cutting, filler-word removal and audio clean-up, in the same place you record. |
| Main limit | Demanding on hardware, and it takes time to learn. | A poor fit for heavy b-roll, effects or colour, and large projects can feel slow on older machines. |
| What you leave with | Finished long-form or short-form from a desktop timeline, including a serious colour pass. | Edited spoken video. Hobbyist lists 1080p watermark-free. Creator lists 4K. |
| Team use | Projects can be handed to another Resolve editor. There is no per-seat SaaS price to quote. | 1 editor on Hobbyist, up to 3 on Creator, up to 5 on Business. |
| Learning curve | Long. The free app does not mean a short afternoon. | Low if you can edit a document. Awkward if you think in a traditional timeline. |
| Watermark or branding | No subscription watermark on the free editor. Studio is a licence, not a brand stamped on the export. | Hobbyist is listed as watermark-free at 1080p. The free plan’s mark was not separately confirmed, so it is not stated. |
| Best avoided when | A phone-first weekly short, or anyone who will not learn a professional interface. | Effects-heavy films and any grade that needs Resolve or a similar colour page. |
| Checked on | 27 October 2026 | 27 October 2026 |
Sources
What DaVinci Resolve and Descript are for
Descript will not grade your interview, and Resolve will not delete your “ums” by editing a paragraph. That is the whole comparison. Descript Hobbyist was $24 a month or $16 a month annually, with 10 media hours and 1080p watermark-free. Resolve’s editor is free, and Studio’s list price is the $295 figure you confirm on Blackmagic’s site.
A podcast that is mostly talking should not start in Resolve. A documentary that is mostly picture should not start in Descript. Creators who do both keep both, and the bill is Descript’s subscription plus, if they need Studio, a one-time licence.
DaVinci Resolve is for Creators who care about colour and want to avoid a subscription. The working method is A full desktop suite: edit, colour, audio and effects. Descript is for Talking-head videos, interviews and video podcasts. The working method is Edit the transcript. Delete a sentence and the picture follows. If those two sentences describe the same afternoon, you do not need this page. They usually do not.
The strength you are paying for on DaVinci Resolve is this: A very capable free version and colour grading that specialist tools are measured against. The strength on Descript is this: Text-based cutting, filler-word removal and audio clean-up, in the same place you record. Strengths are not a score. They are the hour the product gives back.
Money, only where a page published it
Both vendors published a starting figure we could quote on 27 October 2026. DaVinci Resolve: The editing app is free. Studio is a one-time licence. A widely reported list price is $295. Confirm the button on blackmagicdesign.com. A temporary sale is not the standing price. Descript: Free $0. Hobbyist $24/month or $16/month billed annually. Creator $35/month or $24/month annually. Business $65/month or $50/month annually. Enterprise is custom. Tax is not in those figures. A regional checkout can show another button, and the button is the price.
How the bill is structured is a separate question from the sticker. DaVinci Resolve: Free, or a one-time Studio licence. Not a monthly subscription for the editor itself. Descript: Free tier, then a monthly subscription that drops if you pay annually.
Free, or the absence of free, changes the first month more than the feature list does. DaVinci Resolve: Yes. The free app is the one most creators actually use. Descript: Yes. The pricing table listed 60 media minutes a month, 5 GB of cloud, and 2 hours of recording on Free.
What the free or entry plan actually holds: DaVinci Resolve: Studio features beyond the free app were not copied into a matrix from Blackmagic’s own page during this check, so they are not itemised here. Descript: Hobbyist: 10 media hours, 400 AI credits, 1080p watermark-free, 1 editor, 100 GB. Creator: 30 hours, 800 credits, 4K, up to 3 editors, 1 TB. Business: 40 hours, 1,500 credits, up to 5 editors, 2 TB.
A working week on each
On DaVinci Resolve, the platforms are Desktop app. You get Finished long-form or short-form from a desktop timeline, including a serious colour pass. The team shape is Projects can be handed to another Resolve editor. There is no per-seat SaaS price to quote. The learning curve is Long. The free app does not mean a short afternoon. Branding or watermark, stated only if we could support it: No subscription watermark on the free editor. Studio is a licence, not a brand stamped on the export.
On Descript, the platforms are Desktop and browser. It records screen, camera and remote guests. You get Edited spoken video. Hobbyist lists 1080p watermark-free. Creator lists 4K. The team shape is 1 editor on Hobbyist, up to 3 on Creator, up to 5 on Business. The learning curve is Low if you can edit a document. Awkward if you think in a traditional timeline. Branding or watermark: Hobbyist is listed as watermark-free at 1080p. The free plan’s mark was not separately confirmed, so it is not stated.
Where DaVinci Resolve gets awkward: Demanding on hardware, and it takes time to learn. Leave it when A phone-first weekly short, or anyone who will not learn a professional interface. Where Descript gets awkward: A poor fit for heavy b-roll, effects or colour, and large projects can feel slow on older machines. Leave it when Effects-heavy films and any grade that needs Resolve or a similar colour page.
A practical way to decide, without a winner’s badge: spend one real piece of work in each, using the free plan or the trial, and keep the one whose limit you did not hit. DaVinci Resolve’s limit is “Demanding on hardware, and it takes time to learn.” Descript’s limit is “A poor fit for heavy b-roll, effects or colour, and large projects can feel slow on older machines.” If your week collides with the first sentence, the second product is the one to try. If it collides with neither, pick the bill you can read.
Put the two offers on one sheet before you subscribe. DaVinci Resolve leaves you with Finished long-form or short-form from a desktop timeline, including a serious colour pass. You pay like this: Free, or a one-time Studio licence. Not a monthly subscription for the editor itself. You should walk away when A phone-first weekly short, or anyone who will not learn a professional interface. Descript leaves you with Edited spoken video. Hobbyist lists 1080p watermark-free. Creator lists 4K. You pay like this: Free tier, then a monthly subscription that drops if you pay annually. You should walk away when Effects-heavy films and any grade that needs Resolve or a similar colour page. The sheet is dull on purpose. A comparison that cannot be written as those six sentences is usually a comparison of logos.
How to read the table
The table is the same facts as the paragraphs, in rows, so a search engine can see them without reading the essay. “Checked on” is 27 October 2026 for every filled comparison on this site. Public ratings from review sites are not in the table: we did not pull a fresh G2 or Capterra number for this update, and an old star count would be a fake precision.
Nothing structural was omitted beyond a public rating. Prices that appear were read from the vendor pages linked under the table.
Re-check before you buy. DaVinci Resolve and Descript both change plan names and buttons. This page is a reading of 27 October 2026, not a quote.
Questions
Which one is cheaper to start?
Resolve’s editor is free. Descript’s free plan listed 60 media minutes a month, 5 GB and 2 recording hours, then Hobbyist at $24 or $16 annually. “Cheaper” depends on whether you need the transcript editor every month.
Can Descript export a timeline Resolve can finish?
Do not plan on a clean round-trip. Treat Descript as the spoken cut and Resolve as a separate finish. This page does not claim an interchange format.
How should I read the DaVinci Resolve price against Descript?
DaVinci Resolve: The editing app is free. Studio is a one-time licence. A widely reported list price is $295. Confirm the button on blackmagicdesign.com. A temporary sale is not the standing price. Descript: Free $0. Hobbyist $24/month or $16/month billed annually. Creator $35/month or $24/month annually. Business $65/month or $50/month annually. Enterprise is custom. Checked 27 October 2026. Tax and regional cards are not included.
What is the free-plan difference between DaVinci Resolve and Descript?
DaVinci Resolve: Yes. The free app is the one most creators actually use. Studio features beyond the free app were not copied into a matrix from Blackmagic’s own page during this check, so they are not itemised here. Descript: Yes. The pricing table listed 60 media minutes a month, 5 GB of cloud, and 2 hours of recording on Free. Hobbyist: 10 media hours, 400 AI credits, 1080p watermark-free, 1 editor, 100 GB. Creator: 30 hours, 800 credits, 4K, up to 3 editors, 1 TB. Business: 40 hours, 1,500 credits, up to 5 editors, 2 TB.
When is DaVinci Resolve the wrong tool in this pair?
A phone-first weekly short, or anyone who will not learn a professional interface. Its main limit is: Demanding on hardware, and it takes time to learn.
Best for
Creators who care about colour and want to avoid subscriptions.
Talking-head videos, interviews and video podcasts.
Free plan
Yes
Yes
How it charges
Free, or a one-time licence for Studio
Free tier, then monthly subscriptions by usage
Made for
YouTubers
PodcastersYouTubersCourse creators
What it does well
- Very capable free version
- Best-in-class colour grading
- One-time price for Studio instead of a subscription
- Text-based editing is very fast for spoken content
- Filler-word removal and audio clean-up built in
- Records screen, camera and remote guests
Where Nub hesitates
- Demanding on hardware
- Takes time to learn
- Less suited to heavy b-roll, effects or colour work
- Large projects can feel slow on older machines
What actually differs
DaVinci Resolve combines editing, colour grading, audio and effects in one desktop app. The free version is enough for most creators; Studio is a one-time purchase.
Descript transcribes your recording and lets you cut it like a document: delete a sentence and the video follows. It also records, removes filler words and cleans up audio.
Pricing works differently: DaVinci Resolve is free, or a one-time licence for Studio, while Descript is free tier, then monthly subscriptions by usage.
Descript also suits podcasters, course creators, which DaVinci Resolve is not really built for.
How to decide
- Editing model
- Text-based editing (cut the transcript, cut the video) is fastest for interviews and talking heads. Timeline editors win as soon as you layer footage.
- Export speed on your machine
- A cloud editor frees your laptop; a desktop editor uses your GPU. Check both against the length of your typical video.
- Captions and vertical crops
- If you repurpose into shorts, built-in auto-captions and reframing save a second tool.





