Compare video editors

Descript vs Adobe Premiere Pro

Nub tried both so you don’t have to.

DescriptNub’s pick

Get Descript

Adobe Premiere Pro

Get Adobe Premiere Pro
Nub, the toolforcreators eraser

Nub’s verdict

Pick Descript for talking-head videos, interviews and video podcasts.

Pick Adobe Premiere Pro for long-form YouTube with b-roll, graphics and an editor on the team.

Descript vs Adobe Premiere Pro, in rows

Checked on 27 October 2026. A row is here only when both cells could be filled. Prices that were not read from the vendor are not guessed.

Descript compared with Adobe Premiere Pro, checked 27 October 2026
DescriptAdobe Premiere Pro
Starting priceFree $0. Hobbyist $24/month or $16/month billed annually. Creator $35/month or $24/month annually. Business $65/month or $50/month annually. Enterprise is custom.Adobe’s Creative Cloud video plans page listed the Premiere Pro single app at US$22.99/month. All Apps was listed at $59.99/month on the same page.
Free planYes. The pricing table listed 60 media minutes a month, 5 GB of cloud, and 2 hours of recording on Free.No free plan.
Free plan limitsHobbyist: 10 media hours, 400 AI credits, 1080p watermark-free, 1 editor, 100 GB. Creator: 30 hours, 800 credits, 4K, up to 3 editors, 1 TB. Business: 40 hours, 1,500 credits, up to 5 editors, 2 TB.Price is a subscription. Confirm the card: Adobe localises it. This row does not invent an annual discount that was not on the page we used.
How you payFree tier, then a monthly subscription that drops if you pay annually.Monthly or yearly subscription through Creative Cloud.
PlatformsDesktop and browser. It records screen, camera and remote guests.Windows and Mac.
Best forTalking-head videos, interviews and video podcasts.Long-form YouTube with b-roll, graphics, and an editor on the team.
How the work gets doneEdit the transcript. Delete a sentence and the picture follows.A traditional multi-track timeline, with After Effects and Photoshop next to it.
Key strengthText-based cutting, filler-word removal and audio clean-up, in the same place you record.Complex, multi-layer projects, and a file most freelance editors can open.
Main limitA poor fit for heavy b-roll, effects or colour, and large projects can feel slow on older machines.Subscription only, and a steeper curve than a creator-first editor.
What you leave withEdited spoken video. Hobbyist lists 1080p watermark-free. Creator lists 4K.Any practical length and format a desktop editor is asked for.
Team use1 editor on Hobbyist, up to 3 on Creator, up to 5 on Business.The usual hand-off in freelance editing. All Apps at $59.99/month is the bundle if the team also needs After Effects.
Learning curveLow if you can edit a document. Awkward if you think in a traditional timeline.Steep if you are coming from a phone editor. Familiar if you already cut for a living.
Watermark or brandingHobbyist is listed as watermark-free at 1080p. The free plan’s mark was not separately confirmed, so it is not stated.No free-plan watermark, because there is no free plan.
Best avoided whenEffects-heavy films and any grade that needs Resolve or a similar colour page.A first short posted from a phone, or anyone who refuses a subscription.
Checked on27 October 202627 October 2026

Sources

What Descript and Adobe Premiere Pro are for

Premiere at $22.99 a month and Descript Creator at $35 a month look like competing subscriptions. They are not. Premiere is the multi-track editor you hand to a freelancer. Descript is the transcript you cut before that freelancer, or instead of them, when the video is people talking.

Descript Business was $65 a month or $50 annually, with up to five editors and 2 TB. That is the tier that starts to look like a team tool. It still does not open an After Effects comp. All Apps at $59.99 a month is the Adobe number next to that, and it is a different bundle.

Descript is for Talking-head videos, interviews and video podcasts. The working method is Edit the transcript. Delete a sentence and the picture follows. Adobe Premiere Pro is for Long-form YouTube with b-roll, graphics, and an editor on the team. The working method is A traditional multi-track timeline, with After Effects and Photoshop next to it. If those two sentences describe the same afternoon, you do not need this page. They usually do not.

The strength you are paying for on Descript is this: Text-based cutting, filler-word removal and audio clean-up, in the same place you record. The strength on Adobe Premiere Pro is this: Complex, multi-layer projects, and a file most freelance editors can open. Strengths are not a score. They are the hour the product gives back.

Money, only where a page published it

Both vendors published a starting figure we could quote on 27 October 2026. Descript: Free $0. Hobbyist $24/month or $16/month billed annually. Creator $35/month or $24/month annually. Business $65/month or $50/month annually. Enterprise is custom. Adobe Premiere Pro: Adobe’s Creative Cloud video plans page listed the Premiere Pro single app at US$22.99/month. All Apps was listed at $59.99/month on the same page. Tax is not in those figures. A regional checkout can show another button, and the button is the price.

How the bill is structured is a separate question from the sticker. Descript: Free tier, then a monthly subscription that drops if you pay annually. Adobe Premiere Pro: Monthly or yearly subscription through Creative Cloud.

Free, or the absence of free, changes the first month more than the feature list does. Descript: Yes. The pricing table listed 60 media minutes a month, 5 GB of cloud, and 2 hours of recording on Free. Adobe Premiere Pro: No free plan.

What the free or entry plan actually holds: Descript: Hobbyist: 10 media hours, 400 AI credits, 1080p watermark-free, 1 editor, 100 GB. Creator: 30 hours, 800 credits, 4K, up to 3 editors, 1 TB. Business: 40 hours, 1,500 credits, up to 5 editors, 2 TB. Adobe Premiere Pro: Price is a subscription. Confirm the card: Adobe localises it. This row does not invent an annual discount that was not on the page we used.

A working week on each

On Descript, the platforms are Desktop and browser. It records screen, camera and remote guests. You get Edited spoken video. Hobbyist lists 1080p watermark-free. Creator lists 4K. The team shape is 1 editor on Hobbyist, up to 3 on Creator, up to 5 on Business. The learning curve is Low if you can edit a document. Awkward if you think in a traditional timeline. Branding or watermark, stated only if we could support it: Hobbyist is listed as watermark-free at 1080p. The free plan’s mark was not separately confirmed, so it is not stated.

On Adobe Premiere Pro, the platforms are Windows and Mac. You get Any practical length and format a desktop editor is asked for. The team shape is The usual hand-off in freelance editing. All Apps at $59.99/month is the bundle if the team also needs After Effects. The learning curve is Steep if you are coming from a phone editor. Familiar if you already cut for a living. Branding or watermark: No free-plan watermark, because there is no free plan.

Where Descript gets awkward: A poor fit for heavy b-roll, effects or colour, and large projects can feel slow on older machines. Leave it when Effects-heavy films and any grade that needs Resolve or a similar colour page. Where Adobe Premiere Pro gets awkward: Subscription only, and a steeper curve than a creator-first editor. Leave it when A first short posted from a phone, or anyone who refuses a subscription.

A practical way to decide, without a winner’s badge: spend one real piece of work in each, using the free plan or the trial, and keep the one whose limit you did not hit. Descript’s limit is “A poor fit for heavy b-roll, effects or colour, and large projects can feel slow on older machines.” Adobe Premiere Pro’s limit is “Subscription only, and a steeper curve than a creator-first editor.” If your week collides with the first sentence, the second product is the one to try. If it collides with neither, pick the bill you can read.

Put the two offers on one sheet before you subscribe. Descript leaves you with Edited spoken video. Hobbyist lists 1080p watermark-free. Creator lists 4K. You pay like this: Free tier, then a monthly subscription that drops if you pay annually. You should walk away when Effects-heavy films and any grade that needs Resolve or a similar colour page. Adobe Premiere Pro leaves you with Any practical length and format a desktop editor is asked for. You pay like this: Monthly or yearly subscription through Creative Cloud. You should walk away when A first short posted from a phone, or anyone who refuses a subscription. The sheet is dull on purpose. A comparison that cannot be written as those six sentences is usually a comparison of logos.

How to read the table

The table is the same facts as the paragraphs, in rows, so a search engine can see them without reading the essay. “Checked on” is 27 October 2026 for every filled comparison on this site. Public ratings from review sites are not in the table: we did not pull a fresh G2 or Capterra number for this update, and an old star count would be a fake precision.

Nothing structural was omitted beyond a public rating. Prices that appear were read from the vendor pages linked under the table.

Re-check before you buy. Descript and Adobe Premiere Pro both change plan names and buttons. This page is a reading of 27 October 2026, not a quote.

Questions

Which subscription is the “editor”?

Premiere, if the edit is layers and b-roll. Descript, if the edit is the transcript. Paying for both is coherent. Paying for Premiere to remove filler words is an expensive way to do Descript’s job.

Is there a free way to try this pair?

Descript’s free plan is real, with the minute and storage caps above. Premiere has no free plan. A trial is not the same thing as a plan you can stay on.

How should I read the Descript price against Adobe Premiere Pro?

Descript: Free $0. Hobbyist $24/month or $16/month billed annually. Creator $35/month or $24/month annually. Business $65/month or $50/month annually. Enterprise is custom. Adobe Premiere Pro: Adobe’s Creative Cloud video plans page listed the Premiere Pro single app at US$22.99/month. All Apps was listed at $59.99/month on the same page. Checked 27 October 2026. Tax and regional cards are not included.

What is the free-plan difference between Descript and Adobe Premiere Pro?

Descript: Yes. The pricing table listed 60 media minutes a month, 5 GB of cloud, and 2 hours of recording on Free. Hobbyist: 10 media hours, 400 AI credits, 1080p watermark-free, 1 editor, 100 GB. Creator: 30 hours, 800 credits, 4K, up to 3 editors, 1 TB. Business: 40 hours, 1,500 credits, up to 5 editors, 2 TB. Adobe Premiere Pro: No free plan. Price is a subscription. Confirm the card: Adobe localises it. This row does not invent an annual discount that was not on the page we used.

When is Descript the wrong tool in this pair?

Effects-heavy films and any grade that needs Resolve or a similar colour page. Its main limit is: A poor fit for heavy b-roll, effects or colour, and large projects can feel slow on older machines.

Best for

Talking-head videos, interviews and video podcasts.

Long-form YouTube with b-roll, graphics and an editor on the team.

Free plan

Yes

No

How it charges

Free tier, then monthly subscriptions by usage

Monthly or yearly subscription

Made for

PodcastersYouTubersCourse creators

YouTubersCourse creators

What it does well

  • Text-based editing is very fast for spoken content
  • Filler-word removal and audio clean-up built in
  • Records screen, camera and remote guests
  • Handles complex, multi-layer projects
  • Easy to hand projects to freelance editors
  • Works with After Effects and Photoshop

Where Nub hesitates

  • Less suited to heavy b-roll, effects or colour work
  • Large projects can feel slow on older machines
  • Subscription only
  • Steeper learning curve than creator-first editors

What actually differs

Descript transcribes your recording and lets you cut it like a document: delete a sentence and the video follows. It also records, removes filler words and cleans up audio.

Premiere Pro is a professional timeline editor that works with the rest of Adobe’s apps. It handles any format and any length, and most freelance editors already know it.

Descript has a free plan; Adobe Premiere Pro does not (monthly or yearly subscription).

Pricing works differently: Descript is free tier, then monthly subscriptions by usage, while Adobe Premiere Pro is monthly or yearly subscription.

Descript also suits podcasters, which Adobe Premiere Pro is not really built for.

How to decide

Editing model
Text-based editing (cut the transcript, cut the video) is fastest for interviews and talking heads. Timeline editors win as soon as you layer footage.
Export speed on your machine
A cloud editor frees your laptop; a desktop editor uses your GPU. Check both against the length of your typical video.
Captions and vertical crops
If you repurpose into shorts, built-in auto-captions and reframing save a second tool.

More head-to-heads

All Editing tools